North Carolina · NAICS 52 · Annual, 2025

Finance and Insurance in North Carolina

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 52 in North Carolina, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Finance and Insurance (NAICS 52) employed about 234,300 people in North Carolina across roughly 19,733 establishments, with average annual pay of $138,310.

Employment in Finance and Insurance in North Carolina grew 21.8% from 2020 to 2025. Average pay in the industry is 93.4% above the all-industries average in North Carolina. Employment reached its 2004–2025 peak in 2025, at about 234,300. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for North Carolina are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 234,300Employment, 2025
  • 19,733Establishments
  • $138,310Avg. annual pay
  • 4.7%Share of North Carolina jobs
  • 1.16Location quotient

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Finance and Insurance in North Carolina, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 141,200 to 234,300.0100K200K300K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 141,200; 2005 142,900; 2006 150,600; 2007 153,300; 2008 153,600; 2009 148,700; 2010 147,600; 2011 148,800; 2012 149,200; 2013 150,900; 2014 153,700; 2015 158,700; 2016 163,800; 2017 168,500; 2018 173,700; 2019 184,700; 2020 192,300; 2021 207,400; 2022 219,700; 2023 228,700; 2024 232,300; 2025 234,300.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
2025234,32519,733$138,314 0.9%pub.
2024232,30819,920$130,190 1.6%est. · 1.00
2023228,72319,797$123,401 4.1%est. · 1.00
2022219,72918,507$120,679 5.9%pub.
2021207,42616,937$115,548 7.8%pub.
2020192,33516,081$110,068 4.1%est. · 1.00
2019184,72715,318$102,287 6.4%est. · 1.00
2018173,66715,036$99,931 3.1%est. · 1.00
2017168,46214,997$94,917 2.9%pub.
2016163,77214,544$90,042 3.2%pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 5 shown

CodeSubsectorEmploymentShare of finance and insuranceLQSource
521Monetary Authorities-Central Bank3160.1%0.49est. · 0.98
522Credit Intermediation and Related Activities118,20850.4%1.45pub.
523Securities, Commodity Contracts, and Other Financial Investments and Related Activities33,40814.3%0.95pub.
524Insurance Carriers and Related Activities81,81234.9%0.98pub.
525Funds, Trusts, and Other Financial Vehicles5800.3%0.53est. · 0.99

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Finance and Insurance in North Carolina, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for finance and insurance in North Carolina. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.