New York · NAICS 52 · Annual, 2025

Finance and Insurance in New York

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 52 in New York, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Finance and Insurance (NAICS 52) employed about 545,400 people in New York across roughly 29,956 establishments, with average annual pay of $332,200.

Employment in Finance and Insurance in New York grew 5.8% from 2020 to 2025. The industry is 1.4× as concentrated in New York as in the nation as a whole (location quotient 1.37). Average pay in the industry is 232.4% above the all-industries average in New York. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for New York are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 545,400Employment, 2025
  • 29,956Establishments
  • $332,200Avg. annual pay
  • 5.6%Share of New York jobs
  • 1.37Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Finance and Insurance in New York, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 519,800 to 545,400.0200K400K600K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 519,800; 2005 529,800; 2006 542,000; 2007 547,800; 2008 538,800; 2009 500,400; 2010 490,900; 2011 501,400; 2012 500,000; 2013 496,700; 2014 503,400; 2015 510,900; 2016 512,100; 2017 514,200; 2018 517,700; 2019 522,700; 2020 515,300; 2021 510,400; 2022 523,900; 2023 535,900; 2024 536,900; 2025 545,400.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
2025545,36429,956$332,197 1.6%est. · 1.00
2024536,92629,592$301,998 0.2%est. · 1.00
2023535,90229,241$280,326 2.3%est. · 1.00
2022523,95028,506$284,821 2.7%est. · 1.00
2021510,39728,210$285,353 0.9%est. · 1.00
2020515,28428,599$251,901 1.4%est. · 1.00
2019522,74228,317$235,024 1.0%est. · 1.00
2018517,66829,257$229,740 0.7%est. · 1.00
2017514,15330,004$234,232 0.4%est. · 1.00
2016512,12429,406$214,088 0.2%est. · 1.00

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 5 shown

CodeSubsectorEmploymentShare of finance and insuranceLQSource
521Monetary Authorities-Central Bank2,7460.5%2.13est. · 0.92
522Credit Intermediation and Related Activities175,24232.1%1.08est. · 1.00
523Securities, Commodity Contracts, and Other Financial Investments and Related Activities223,61641.0%3.22pub.
524Insurance Carriers and Related Activities139,61625.6%0.85est. · 1.00
525Funds, Trusts, and Other Financial Vehicles4,1450.8%1.93est. · 0.95

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Finance and Insurance in New York, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for finance and insurance in New York. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.