New York · NAICS 522 · Annual, 2025

Credit Intermediation and Related Activities in New York

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 522 in New York, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Credit Intermediation and Related Activities (NAICS 522) employed about 175,200 people in New York across roughly 8,707 establishments, with average annual pay of $221,230.

Employment in Credit Intermediation and Related Activities in New York was essentially flat from 2004 to 2025 (-0.2%). Average pay in the industry is 121.3% above the all-industries average in New York. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for New York are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 175,200Employment, 2025
  • 8,707Establishments
  • $221,230Avg. annual pay
  • 1.8%Share of New York jobs
  • 1.08Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Credit Intermediation and Related Activities in New York, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 175,600 to 175,200.050K100K150K200K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 175,600; 2005 178,100; 2006 181,200; 2007 178,800; 2008 170,600; 2009 158,000; 2010 156,600; 2011 159,900; 2012 161,700; 2013 160,700; 2014 162,200; 2015 164,100; 2016 163,400; 2017 165,800; 2018 164,900; 2019 170,300; 2020 167,300; 2021 165,100; 2022 169,200; 2023 172,900; 2024 172,300; 2025 175,200.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
2025175,2428,707$221,226 1.7%est. · 1.00
2024172,2968,826$203,116 0.3%est. · 1.00
2023172,8678,851$191,274 2.1%est. · 1.00
2022169,2368,780$183,371 2.5%est. · 1.00
2021165,1208,751$174,150 1.3%est. · 1.00
2020167,3268,907$167,482 1.8%est. · 1.00
2019170,3488,932$160,815 3.3%est. · 1.00
2018164,9359,110$153,312 0.5%est. · 1.00
2017165,8469,500$148,329 1.5%est. · 1.00
2016163,3749,385$139,155 0.5%est. · 1.00

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Credit Intermediation and Related Activities in New York, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for credit intermediation and related activities in New York. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.