Delaware · NAICS 52 · Annual, 2025

Finance and Insurance in Delaware

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 52 in Delaware, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Finance and Insurance (NAICS 52) employed about 43,300 people in Delaware across roughly 2,625 establishments, with average annual pay of $135,660.

Employment in Finance and Insurance in Delaware grew 13.1% from 2004 to 2025. The industry is 2.2× as concentrated in Delaware as in the nation as a whole (location quotient 2.21). Average pay in the industry is 79.9% above the all-industries average in Delaware. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Delaware are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 43,300Employment, 2025
  • 2,625Establishments
  • $135,660Avg. annual pay
  • 9.0%Share of Delaware jobs
  • 2.21Location quotient

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Finance and Insurance in Delaware, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 38,300 to 43,300.020K40K60K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 38,300; 2005 38,800; 2006 37,600; 2007 38,700; 2008 39,100; 2009 38,000; 2010 36,900; 2011 37,000; 2012 37,400; 2013 38,500; 2014 39,800; 2015 41,300; 2016 41,700; 2017 42,500; 2018 42,300; 2019 42,600; 2020 41,900; 2021 41,800; 2022 42,900; 2023 44,400; 2024 43,900; 2025 43,300.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
202543,3312,625$135,657 1.2%pub.
202443,8622,563$129,529 1.2%pub.
202344,4092,426$122,772 3.5%pub.
202242,9232,254$120,078 2.6%pub.
202141,8381,989$113,246 0.2%pub.
202041,9261,897$108,971 1.7%pub.
201942,6291,829$102,948 0.9%pub.
201842,2641,811$101,123 0.5%pub.
201742,4901,774$97,732 1.9%pub.
201641,6951,755$93,214 0.9%pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 5 shown

CodeSubsectorEmploymentShare of finance and insuranceLQSource
521Monetary Authorities-Central Bank120.0%0.18est. · 0.94
522Credit Intermediation and Related Activities26,05660.1%3.28pub.
523Securities, Commodity Contracts, and Other Financial Investments and Related Activities10,76224.8%3.15pub.
524Insurance Carriers and Related Activities6,39814.8%0.79pub.
525Funds, Trusts, and Other Financial Vehicles1030.2%0.98est. · 0.97

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Finance and Insurance in Delaware, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for finance and insurance in Delaware. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.