Iowa · NAICS 52 · Annual, 2025

Finance and Insurance in Iowa

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 52 in Iowa, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Finance and Insurance (NAICS 52) employed about 90,900 people in Iowa across roughly 7,440 establishments, with average annual pay of $109,890.

Employment in Finance and Insurance in Iowa grew 10.3% from 2004 to 2025. The industry is 1.4× as concentrated in Iowa as in the nation as a whole (location quotient 1.43). Average pay in the industry is 73.2% above the all-industries average in Iowa. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Iowa are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 90,900Employment, 2025
  • 7,440Establishments
  • $109,890Avg. annual pay
  • 5.8%Share of Iowa jobs
  • 1.43Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Finance and Insurance in Iowa, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 82,400 to 90,900.025K50K75K100K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 82,400; 2005 84,100; 2006 86,800; 2007 89,500; 2008 90,000; 2009 89,600; 2010 89,100; 2011 88,300; 2012 89,200; 2013 90,500; 2014 90,500; 2015 91,700; 2016 94,200; 2017 94,800; 2018 94,600; 2019 95,500; 2020 95,300; 2021 95,000; 2022 94,000; 2023 93,900; 2024 92,100; 2025 90,900.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
202590,8977,440$109,887 1.3%est. · 1.00
202492,0937,434$104,379 1.9%est. · 1.00
202393,8717,407$98,765 0.2%est. · 1.00
202294,0337,349$95,711 1.0%est. · 1.00
202194,9567,012$89,076 0.3%est. · 1.00
202095,2817,045$85,586 0.2%est. · 1.00
201995,4726,812$80,630 0.9%est. · 1.00
201894,5966,719$78,188 0.2%est. · 1.00
201794,7556,610$75,650 0.6%est. · 1.00
201694,1716,526$72,708 2.7%est. · 1.00

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 5 shown

CodeSubsectorEmploymentShare of finance and insuranceLQSource
521Monetary Authorities-Central Bank740.1%0.36est. · 0.83
522Credit Intermediation and Related Activities37,01740.7%1.44pub.
523Securities, Commodity Contracts, and Other Financial Investments and Related Activities6,3957.0%0.58pub.
524Insurance Carriers and Related Activities47,31152.0%1.81est. · 1.00
525Funds, Trusts, and Other Financial Vehicles1000.1%0.29est. · 0.87

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Finance and Insurance in Iowa, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for finance and insurance in Iowa. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.