Illinois · NAICS 52 · Annual, 2025

Finance and Insurance in Illinois

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 52 in Illinois, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Finance and Insurance (NAICS 52) employed about 301,100 people in Illinois across roughly 20,018 establishments, with average annual pay of $166,740.

Employment in Finance and Insurance in Illinois declined 3.4% from 2004 to 2025. Average pay in the industry is 108.3% above the all-industries average in Illinois. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Illinois are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 301,100Employment, 2025
  • 20,018Establishments
  • $166,740Avg. annual pay
  • 5.0%Share of Illinois jobs
  • 1.22Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Finance and Insurance in Illinois, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 311,500 to 301,100.0100K200K300K400K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 311,500; 2005 313,500; 2006 315,600; 2007 314,000; 2008 306,100; 2009 291,700; 2010 284,000; 2011 279,900; 2012 281,900; 2013 282,300; 2014 279,600; 2015 287,700; 2016 287,800; 2017 289,900; 2018 292,700; 2019 299,400; 2020 299,600; 2021 298,900; 2022 299,200; 2023 300,100; 2024 299,400; 2025 301,100.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
2025301,05620,018$166,743 0.6%est. · 1.00
2024299,38420,170$155,510 0.3%est. · 1.00
2023300,14620,215$151,808 0.3%est. · 1.00
2022299,18320,144$147,165 0.1%est. · 1.00
2021298,85920,095$146,224 0.2%est. · 1.00
2020299,58319,730$133,688 0.1%est. · 1.00
2019299,43219,544$124,353 2.3%est. · 1.00
2018292,65719,514$120,784 0.9%est. · 1.00
2017289,94719,401$115,586 0.8%est. · 1.00
2016287,79921,018$111,071 0.1%est. · 1.00

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 5 shown

CodeSubsectorEmploymentShare of finance and insuranceLQSource
521Monetary Authorities-Central Bank1,4020.5%1.75pub.
522Credit Intermediation and Related Activities113,86337.8%1.14est. · 1.00
523Securities, Commodity Contracts, and Other Financial Investments and Related Activities57,93219.2%1.34est. · 1.00
524Insurance Carriers and Related Activities125,82241.8%1.23est. · 1.00
525Funds, Trusts, and Other Financial Vehicles2,0370.7%1.53pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Finance and Insurance in Illinois, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for finance and insurance in Illinois. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.