Illinois · NAICS 523 · Annual, 2025

Securities, Commodity Contracts, and Other Financial Investments and Related Activities in Illinois

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 523 in Illinois, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Securities, Commodity Contracts, and Other Financial Investments and Related Activities (NAICS 523) employed about 57,900 people in Illinois across roughly 5,656 establishments, with average annual pay of $322,840.

Employment in Securities, Commodity Contracts, and Other Financial Investments and Related Activities in Illinois grew 12.0% from 2020 to 2025. The industry is 1.3× as concentrated in Illinois as in the nation as a whole (location quotient 1.35). Average pay in the industry is 303.4% above the all-industries average in Illinois. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Illinois are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 57,900Employment, 2025
  • 5,656Establishments
  • $322,840Avg. annual pay
  • 1.0%Share of Illinois jobs
  • 1.34Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Securities, Commodity Contracts, and Other Financial Investments and Related Activities in Illinois, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 49,400 to 57,900.020K40K60K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 49,400; 2005 49,600; 2006 49,400; 2007 50,600; 2008 51,500; 2009 49,400; 2010 48,500; 2011 48,400; 2012 48,400; 2013 49,200; 2014 50,400; 2015 51,000; 2016 50,900; 2017 51,900; 2018 52,400; 2019 51,600; 2020 51,700; 2021 52,600; 2022 54,600; 2023 56,300; 2024 57,000; 2025 57,900.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
202557,9325,656$322,840 1.7%est. · 1.00
202456,9615,634$296,788 1.1%est. · 1.00
202356,3175,640$306,841 3.1%est. · 1.00
202254,6165,581$299,361 3.9%est. · 1.00
202152,5875,401$317,243 1.7%est. · 1.00
202051,7075,160$263,081 0.1%est. · 1.00
201951,6454,936$247,712 1.5%est. · 1.00
201852,4304,913$237,805 1.1%est. · 1.00
201751,8844,829$230,685 1.9%est. · 1.00
201650,8905,284$222,600 0.3%est. · 1.00

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Securities, Commodity Contracts, and Other Financial Investments and Related Activities in Illinois, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for securities, commodity contracts, and other financial investments and related activities in Illinois. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.