Kentucky · NAICS 622 · Annual, 2025
Hospitals in Kentucky
Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 622 in Kentucky, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.
In 2025, Hospitals (NAICS 622) employed about 113,200 people in Kentucky across roughly 423 establishments, with average annual pay of $76,650.
Employment in Hospitals in Kentucky grew 14.3% from 2020 to 2025. Employment reached its 2004–2025 peak in 2025, at about 113,200. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Kentucky are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.
- 113,200Employment, 2025
- 423Establishments
- $76,650Avg. annual pay
- 5.7%Share of Kentucky jobs
- 1.25Location quotient
The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.
Employment, 2004 to 2025
Annual average · all ownerships
Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 82,100; 2005 83,400; 2006 85,600; 2007 87,200; 2008 88,500; 2009 90,100; 2010 91,800; 2011 93,300; 2012 94,400; 2013 92,900; 2014 90,800; 2015 92,200; 2016 95,700; 2017 97,900; 2018 99,200; 2019 100,200; 2020 99,000; 2021 100,800; 2022 103,500; 2023 106,500; 2024 111,900; 2025 113,200.
Last ten years
Annual · 10 years
| Year | Employment | Estab. | Avg. annual pay | Change | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 113,199 | 423 | $76,654 | 1.2% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2024 | 111,868 | 380 | $72,334 | 5.0% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2023 | 106,528 | 346 | $71,588 | 2.9% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2022 | 103,519 | 298 | $68,521 | 2.7% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2021 | 100,816 | 258 | $64,086 | 1.8% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2020 | 99,044 | 231 | $59,116 | 1.2% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2019 | 100,216 | 211 | $56,525 | 1.0% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2018 | 99,184 | 199 | $54,953 | 1.4% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2017 | 97,856 | 201 | $53,986 | 2.3% | pub. |
| 2016 | 95,678 | 197 | $54,041 | 3.8% | pub. |
† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.
The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.
Where these numbers come from
Reading these figures
The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.
How this figure was built
Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.
Notes
Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.
Hospitals in Kentucky, quarterly, at full depth
This page shows annual figures for hospitals in Kentucky. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.
County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.