South Dakota · NAICS 622 · Annual, 2025

Hospitals in South Dakota

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 622 in South Dakota, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Hospitals (NAICS 622) employed about 33,600 people in South Dakota across roughly 91 establishments, with average annual pay of $80,180.

Employment in Hospitals in South Dakota grew 5.3% from 2020 to 2025. The industry is 1.6× as concentrated in South Dakota as in the nation as a whole (location quotient 1.60). QCEW withheld part of this figure for South Dakota; DTG's estimate is shown, with a reliability score of 0.98. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for South Dakota are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 33,600Employment, 2025
  • 91Establishments
  • $80,180Avg. annual pay
  • 7.3%Share of South Dakota jobs
  • 1.60Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 0.98. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Hospitals in South Dakota, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 22,100 to 33,600.010K20K30K40K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 22,100; 2005 22,200; 2006 22,500; 2007 23,200; 2008 24,200; 2009 24,800; 2010 25,300; 2011 26,100; 2012 27,600; 2013 28,200; 2014 28,400; 2015 28,700; 2016 29,300; 2017 30,100; 2018 30,500; 2019 30,800; 2020 31,900; 2021 32,600; 2022 32,600; 2023 33,000; 2024 33,800; 2025 33,600.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
202533,60691$80,182 0.7%est. · 0.98
202433,84086$76,039 2.4%est. · 0.99
202333,03985$72,459 1.3%est. · 0.99
202232,63284$70,356 0.1%est. · 0.99
202132,60584$66,158 2.2%est. · 0.99
202031,90581$65,385 3.5%est. · 0.98
201930,84281$59,837 1.0%est. · 0.98
201830,54981$56,918 1.5%est. · 0.98
201730,10082$55,425 2.6%est. · 0.98
201629,32980$52,636 2.3%est. · 0.98

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Hospitals in South Dakota, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for hospitals in South Dakota. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.