California · NAICS 52 · Annual, 2025

Finance and Insurance in California

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 52 in California, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Finance and Insurance (NAICS 52) employed about 494,000 people in California across roughly 52,759 establishments, with average annual pay of $186,820.

Employment in Finance and Insurance in California declined 8.6% from 2020 to 2025. The industry is less concentrated in California than in the nation as a whole (location quotient 0.66). Average pay in the industry is 92.7% above the all-industries average in California. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for California are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 494,000Employment, 2025
  • 52,759Establishments
  • $186,820Avg. annual pay
  • 2.7%Share of California jobs
  • 0.66Location quotient

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Finance and Insurance in California, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 620,900 to 494,000.0200K400K600K800K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 620,900; 2005 641,700; 2006 645,400; 2007 618,900; 2008 573,300; 2009 541,300; 2010 512,900; 2011 514,400; 2012 523,900; 2013 524,000; 2014 517,100; 2015 526,500; 2016 544,700; 2017 548,100; 2018 545,400; 2019 543,200; 2020 540,200; 2021 544,100; 2022 541,300; 2023 513,000; 2024 501,500; 2025 494,000.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
2025493,95652,759$186,816 1.5%pub.
2024501,47352,197$174,280 2.2%pub.
2023512,98953,581$171,908 5.2%pub.
2022541,32354,265$161,810 0.5%pub.
2021544,05853,913$174,616 0.7%pub.
2020540,22652,893$148,109 0.5%pub.
2019543,17352,404$134,736 0.4%pub.
2018545,43951,797$127,760 0.5%pub.
2017548,06048,632$123,366 0.6%pub.
2016544,70647,022$116,174 3.5%pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 5 shown

CodeSubsectorEmploymentShare of finance and insuranceLQSource
521Monetary Authorities-Central Bank1,7100.4%0.71est. · 0.87
522Credit Intermediation and Related Activities195,87239.6%0.65pub.
523Securities, Commodity Contracts, and Other Financial Investments and Related Activities102,71420.8%0.79pub.
524Insurance Carriers and Related Activities189,54638.4%0.62pub.
525Funds, Trusts, and Other Financial Vehicles4,1130.8%1.03est. · 0.95

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Finance and Insurance in California, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for finance and insurance in California. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.