Massachusetts · NAICS 238 · Annual, 2025

Specialty Trade Contractors in Massachusetts

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 238 in Massachusetts, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS 238) employed about 116,300 people in Massachusetts across roughly 15,438 establishments, with average annual pay of $98,150.

Employment in Specialty Trade Contractors in Massachusetts grew 9.6% from 2020 to 2025. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Massachusetts are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 116,300Employment, 2025
  • 15,438Establishments
  • $98,150Avg. annual pay
  • 3.2%Share of Massachusetts jobs
  • 0.96Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Specialty Trade Contractors in Massachusetts, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 93,000 to 116,300.050K100K150K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 93,000; 2005 93,900; 2006 95,400; 2007 94,100; 2008 91,400; 2009 76,200; 2010 73,000; 2011 75,700; 2012 79,400; 2013 84,900; 2014 89,100; 2015 95,500; 2016 100,400; 2017 105,800; 2018 111,200; 2019 115,000; 2020 106,100; 2021 115,800; 2022 119,700; 2023 121,500; 2024 119,900; 2025 116,300.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
2025116,33215,438$98,154 3.0%est. · 1.00
2024119,94714,998$93,632 1.3%est. · 1.00
2023121,49015,547$89,516 1.5%est. · 1.00
2022119,65715,567$85,406 3.4%est. · 1.00
2021115,77415,129$82,538 9.1%est. · 1.00
2020106,10214,497$78,844 7.8%est. · 1.00
2019115,01214,661$76,091 3.5%est. · 1.00
2018111,17814,531$74,019 5.1%est. · 1.00
2017105,76314,470$70,471 5.3%est. · 1.00
2016100,44113,942$68,377 5.2%est. · 1.00

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Specialty Trade Contractors in Massachusetts, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for specialty trade contractors in Massachusetts. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.