Arizona · NAICS 238 · Annual, 2025
Specialty Trade Contractors in Arizona
Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 238 in Arizona, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.
In 2025, Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS 238) employed about 148,000 people in Arizona across roughly 12,397 establishments, with average annual pay of $76,180.
Employment in Specialty Trade Contractors in Arizona grew 25.6% from 2020 to 2025. The industry is 1.4× as concentrated in Arizona as in the nation as a whole (location quotient 1.37). Employment fell 55.5% from 2006 to 2011 and has since recovered 81.9% of that loss. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Arizona are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.
- 148,000Employment, 2025
- 12,397Establishments
- $76,180Avg. annual pay
- 4.6%Share of Arizona jobs
- 1.37Location quotient
The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.
Employment, 2004 to 2025
Annual average · all ownerships
Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 131,600; 2005 150,100; 2006 164,500; 2007 153,800; 2008 124,300; 2009 85,800; 2010 73,700; 2011 73,200; 2012 77,600; 2013 82,800; 2014 85,100; 2015 87,200; 2016 92,400; 2017 99,400; 2018 107,600; 2019 116,000; 2020 117,800; 2021 121,900; 2022 130,900; 2023 143,600; 2024 150,700; 2025 148,000.
Last ten years
Annual · 10 years
| Year | Employment | Estab. | Avg. annual pay | Change | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 147,983 | 12,397 | $76,177 | 1.8% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2024 | 150,686 | 12,176 | $73,785 | 4.9% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2023 | 143,610 | 11,649 | $70,085 | 9.7% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2022 | 130,904 | 10,548 | $65,815 | 7.4% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2021 | 121,867 | 9,908 | $59,723 | 3.4% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2020 | 117,818 | 9,273 | $57,166 | 1.6% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2019 | 115,979 | 9,038 | $53,840 | 7.8% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2018 | 107,603 | 8,516 | $51,461 | 8.3% | pub. |
| 2017 | 99,405 | 7,553 | $49,091 | 7.6% | pub. |
| 2016 | 92,352 | 7,435 | $46,493 | 5.9% | pub. |
† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.
The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.
Where these numbers come from
Reading these figures
The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.
How this figure was built
Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.
Notes
Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.
Specialty Trade Contractors in Arizona, quarterly, at full depth
This page shows annual figures for specialty trade contractors in Arizona. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.
County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.