United States · NAICS 326 · Annual, 2025

Plastics and Rubber Products Manufacturing in the United States

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 326 in the United States, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Plastics and Rubber Products Manufacturing (NAICS 326) employed about 700,200 people in the United States across roughly 14,541 establishments, with average annual pay of $70,950.

Employment in Plastics and Rubber Products Manufacturing in the United States declined 4.1% from 2004 to 2025. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for the United States are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 700,200Employment, 2025
  • 14,541Establishments
  • $70,950Avg. annual pay
  • 0.4%Share of U.S. jobs

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Plastics and Rubber Products Manufacturing in the United States, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 729,900 to 700,200.0200K400K600K800K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 729,900; 2005 726,700; 2006 719,200; 2007 753,000; 2008 724,800; 2009 625,500; 2010 623,300; 2011 633,500; 2012 644,800; 2013 656,800; 2014 673,100; 2015 686,500; 2016 700,600; 2017 714,200; 2018 729,600; 2019 730,600; 2020 692,400; 2021 721,300; 2022 746,600; 2023 734,000; 2024 719,800; 2025 700,200.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
2025700,21814,541$70,955 2.7%est. · 1.00
2024719,77114,377$69,332 1.9%est. · 1.00
2023733,96014,202$66,570 1.7%est. · 1.00
2022746,63913,916$64,037 3.5%est. · 1.00
2021721,31313,539$61,274 4.2%est. · 1.00
2020692,39913,348$57,889 5.2%est. · 1.00
2019730,60613,261$55,073 0.1%est. · 1.00
2018729,61913,235$54,104 2.2%est. · 1.00
2017714,22313,208$53,045 1.9%est. · 1.00
2016700,56113,171$51,553 2.0%est. · 1.00

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Plastics and Rubber Products Manufacturing in the United States, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for plastics and rubber products manufacturing in the United States. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.