South Dakota · NAICS 92 · Annual, 2025

Public Administration in South Dakota

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 92 in South Dakota, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Public Administration (NAICS 92) employed about 28,900 people in South Dakota across roughly 1,345 establishments, with average annual pay of $61,580.

Employment in Public Administration in South Dakota grew 5.7% from 2020 to 2025. Employment reached its 2004–2025 peak in 2025, at about 28,900. QCEW withheld part of this figure for South Dakota; DTG's estimate is shown, with a reliability score of 0.98. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for South Dakota are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 28,900Employment, 2025
  • 1,345Establishments
  • $61,580Avg. annual pay
  • 6.3%Share of South Dakota jobs
  • 1.24Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 0.98. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Public Administration in South Dakota, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 25,300 to 28,900.010K20K30K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 25,300; 2005 25,700; 2006 25,500; 2007 25,500; 2008 25,900; 2009 26,800; 2010 27,200; 2011 26,700; 2012 26,300; 2013 26,400; 2014 26,500; 2015 26,500; 2016 26,900; 2017 27,000; 2018 27,200; 2019 27,500; 2020 27,300; 2021 28,000; 2022 28,100; 2023 28,400; 2024 28,800; 2025 28,900.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
202528,8651,345$61,579 0.3%est. · 0.98
202428,7891,393$58,980 1.5%est. · 1.00
202328,3761,368$55,470 0.9%pub.
202228,1341,378$51,928 0.4%pub.
202128,0311,501$49,535 2.7%pub.
202027,3001,489$48,574 0.9%pub.
201927,5341,445$44,731 1.3%pub.
201827,1701,425$44,021 0.7%pub.
201726,9931,423$43,167 0.4%pub.
201626,8791,424$41,978 1.3%pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 8 shown

CodeSubsectorEmploymentShare of public administrationLQSource
921Executive, Legislative, and Other General Government Support19,21666.6%1.97est. · 0.99
922Justice, Public Order, and Safety Activities2,5869.0%0.45est. · 0.85
923Administration of Human Resource Programs2,1527.5%0.81est. · 0.86
924Administration of Environmental Quality Programs1,7356.0%1.59est. · 0.81
925Administration of Housing Programs, Urban Planning, and Community Development1960.7%0.61pub.
926Administration of Economic Programs1,7786.2%0.94est. · 0.90
927Space Research and Technology10.0%0.01pub.
928National Security and International Affairs1,2014.2%0.67est. · 0.98

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Public Administration in South Dakota, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for public administration in South Dakota. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.