Wyoming · NAICS 92 · Annual, 2025

Public Administration in Wyoming

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 92 in Wyoming, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Public Administration (NAICS 92) employed about 24,000 people in Wyoming across roughly 884 establishments, with average annual pay of $66,950.

Employment in Public Administration in Wyoming grew 7.4% from 2004 to 2025. The industry is 1.7× as concentrated in Wyoming as in the nation as a whole (location quotient 1.68). QCEW withheld part of this figure for Wyoming; DTG's estimate is shown, with a reliability score of 0.97. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Wyoming are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 24,000Employment, 2025
  • 884Establishments
  • $66,950Avg. annual pay
  • 8.5%Share of Wyoming jobs
  • 1.68Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 0.97. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Public Administration in Wyoming, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 22,400 to 24,000.010K20K30K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 22,400; 2005 22,500; 2006 22,300; 2007 22,700; 2008 23,500; 2009 24,200; 2010 24,800; 2011 24,500; 2012 24,400; 2013 24,200; 2014 23,900; 2015 23,800; 2016 23,700; 2017 23,400; 2018 23,300; 2019 23,200; 2020 23,000; 2021 22,800; 2022 22,700; 2023 23,200; 2024 24,100; 2025 24,000.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
202524,038884$66,946 0.1%est. · 0.97
202424,075880$64,616 3.9%pub.
202323,180861$61,255 2.1%pub.
202222,693855$57,405 0.5%pub.
202122,816877$54,810 0.8%pub.
202022,998870$54,268 0.9%pub.
201923,212863$52,765 0.2%pub.
201823,262859$52,380 0.7%pub.
201723,420870$51,184 1.1%pub.
201623,669874$50,597 0.7%pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 8 shown

CodeSubsectorEmploymentShare of public administrationLQSource
921Executive, Legislative, and Other General Government Support11,54048.0%1.94est. · 0.99
922Justice, Public Order, and Safety Activities2,41710.1%0.68est. · 0.87
923Administration of Human Resource Programs2,50310.4%1.54est. · 1.00
924Administration of Environmental Quality Programs3,24713.5%4.85pub.
925Administration of Housing Programs, Urban Planning, and Community Development240.1%0.12est. · 0.82
926Administration of Economic Programs3,22013.4%2.77est. · 1.00
927Space Research and Technology10.0%0.04pub.
928National Security and International Affairs1,0854.5%0.99est. · 0.89

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Public Administration in Wyoming, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for public administration in Wyoming. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.