North Dakota · NAICS 331 · Annual, 2025

Primary Metal Manufacturing in North Dakota

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 331 in North Dakota, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Primary Metal Manufacturing (NAICS 331) employed about 330 people in North Dakota across roughly 6 establishments, with average annual pay of $81,750.

Employment in Primary Metal Manufacturing in North Dakota declined 19.4% from 2024 to 2025. The industry is less concentrated in North Dakota than in the nation as a whole (location quotient 0.33). QCEW withheld part of this figure for North Dakota; DTG's estimate is shown, with a reliability score of 0.20. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for North Dakota are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 330Employment, 2025
  • 6Establishments
  • $81,750Avg. annual pay
  • 0.1%Share of North Dakota jobs
  • 0.33Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 0.20. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Primary Metal Manufacturing in North Dakota, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 120 to 330.020040060020042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 120; 2005 120; 2006 80; 2007 70; 2008 60; 2009 50; 2010 60; 2011 50; 2012 60; 2013 90; 2014 100; 2015 90; 2016 330; 2017 410; 2018 500; 2019 540; 2020 440; 2021 430; 2022 510; 2023 480; 2024 410; 2025 330.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
20253336$81,751 19.4%est. · 0.20
20244146$68,871 13.3%est. · 0.18
20234777$69,123 5.7%est. · 0.18
20225056$78,507 16.9%est. · 0.19
20214326$72,199 0.9%est. · 0.65
20204366$67,034 19.1%est. · 0.61
20195396$65,491 7.0%est. · 0.25
20185046$72,231 24.3%est. · 0.53
20174066$65,631 24.5%est. · 0.25
20163266$62,681 249.4%est. · 0.26

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Primary Metal Manufacturing in North Dakota, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for primary metal manufacturing in North Dakota. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.