Michigan · NAICS 457 · Annual, 2025
Gasoline Stations and Fuel Dealers in Michigan
Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 457 in Michigan, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.
In 2025, Gasoline Stations and Fuel Dealers (NAICS 457) employed about 30,300 people in Michigan across roughly 3,315 establishments, with average annual pay of $33,450.
Employment in Gasoline Stations and Fuel Dealers in Michigan grew 11.3% from 2020 to 2025. Average pay in the industry is 52.8% below the all-industries average in Michigan. Employment reached its 2004–2025 peak in 2025, at about 30,300. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Michigan are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.
- 30,300Employment, 2025
- 3,315Establishments
- $33,450Avg. annual pay
- 0.7%Share of Michigan jobs
- 1.02Location quotient
The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.
Employment, 2004 to 2025
Annual average · all ownerships
Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 28,200; 2005 27,900; 2006 27,600; 2007 26,900; 2008 26,500; 2009 25,300; 2010 25,800; 2011 26,300; 2012 25,500; 2013 26,200; 2014 27,000; 2015 28,000; 2016 28,200; 2017 28,500; 2018 28,900; 2019 29,100; 2020 27,300; 2021 27,400; 2022 28,400; 2023 29,200; 2024 29,500; 2025 30,300.
Last ten years
Annual · 10 years
| Year | Employment | Estab. | Avg. annual pay | Change | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 30,339 | 3,315 | $33,447 | 2.8% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2024 | 29,502 | 3,227 | $32,732 | 1.0% | pub. |
| 2023 | 29,221 | 3,491 | $31,947 | 3.0% | pub. |
| 2022 | 28,378 | 3,308 | $30,882 | 3.7% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2021 | 27,357 | 3,181 | $29,090 | 0.3% | pub. |
| 2020 | 27,263 | 3,231 | $26,977 | 6.2% | pub. |
| 2019 | 29,069 | 3,268 | $25,227 | 0.6% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2018 | 28,893 | 3,132 | $24,044 | 1.3% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2017 | 28,535 | 3,121 | $22,913 | 1.3% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2016 | 28,183 | 3,158 | $22,057 | 0.5% | est. · 1.00 |
† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.
The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.
Where these numbers come from
Reading these figures
The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.
How this figure was built
Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.
Notes
Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.
Gasoline Stations and Fuel Dealers in Michigan, quarterly, at full depth
This page shows annual figures for gasoline stations and fuel dealers in Michigan. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.
County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.