Michigan · NAICS 44-45 · Annual, 2025

Retail Trade in Michigan

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 44-45 in Michigan, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Retail Trade (NAICS 44-45) employed about 450,000 people in Michigan across roughly 32,629 establishments, with average annual pay of $41,890.

Employment in Retail Trade in Michigan grew 5.1% from 2020 to 2025. Average pay in the industry is 40.8% below the all-industries average in Michigan. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Michigan are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 450,000Employment, 2025
  • 32,629Establishments
  • $41,890Avg. annual pay
  • 10.2%Share of Michigan jobs
  • 1.03Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Retail Trade in Michigan, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 512,600 to 450,000.0200K400K600K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 512,600; 2005 504,300; 2006 493,800; 2007 486,200; 2008 474,900; 2009 448,600; 2010 444,300; 2011 446,500; 2012 448,200; 2013 453,900; 2014 459,900; 2015 466,500; 2016 472,100; 2017 472,700; 2018 469,300; 2019 463,500; 2020 428,100; 2021 448,800; 2022 454,500; 2023 455,300; 2024 451,300; 2025 450,000.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
2025449,99932,629$41,893 0.3%est. · 1.00
2024451,34031,642$40,426 0.9%est. · 1.00
2023455,27234,598$39,708 0.2%est. · 1.00
2022454,53232,806$39,103 1.3%est. · 1.00
2021448,81933,034$37,849 4.8%est. · 1.00
2020428,08733,997$35,354 7.6%est. · 1.00
2019463,50634,220$32,055 1.2%est. · 1.00
2018469,27632,265$31,099 0.7%est. · 1.00
2017472,69131,916$30,112 0.1%est. · 1.00
2016472,12931,613$29,205 1.2%pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 9 shown

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Retail Trade in Michigan, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for retail trade in Michigan. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.