Alabama · NAICS 81 · Annual, 2025
Other Services (except Public Administration) in Alabama
Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 81 in Alabama, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.
In 2025, Other Services (except Public Administration) (NAICS 81) employed about 51,100 people in Alabama across roughly 9,960 establishments, with average annual pay of $54,310.
Employment in Other Services (except Public Administration) in Alabama grew 18.0% from 2020 to 2025. Employment reached its 2004–2025 peak in 2025, at about 51,100. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Alabama are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.
- 51,100Employment, 2025
- 9,960Establishments
- $54,310Avg. annual pay
- 2.4%Share of Alabama jobs
- 0.80Location quotient
The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.
Employment, 2004 to 2025
Annual average · all ownerships
Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 49,600; 2005 50,000; 2006 49,300; 2007 49,400; 2008 48,800; 2009 46,300; 2010 46,200; 2011 46,000; 2012 45,700; 2013 45,400; 2014 45,200; 2015 45,700; 2016 45,400; 2017 46,100; 2018 46,900; 2019 47,700; 2020 43,300; 2021 45,100; 2022 47,700; 2023 49,400; 2024 50,900; 2025 51,100.
Last ten years
Annual · 10 years
| Year | Employment | Estab. | Avg. annual pay | Change | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 51,073 | 9,960 | $54,310 | 0.4% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2024 | 50,877 | 9,795 | $52,166 | 3.0% | pub. |
| 2023 | 49,410 | 9,680 | $50,454 | 3.5% | pub. |
| 2022 | 47,721 | 9,595 | $47,622 | 5.7% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2021 | 45,130 | 9,394 | $44,831 | 4.3% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2020 | 43,278 | 9,086 | $42,460 | 9.2% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2019 | 47,686 | 10,227 | $39,429 | 1.6% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2018 | 46,937 | 10,140 | $38,624 | 1.7% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2017 | 46,133 | 9,640 | $37,308 | 1.6% | est. · 1.00 |
| 2016 | 45,420 | 9,245 | $36,325 | 0.7% | est. · 1.00 |
† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.
The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.
By subsector, 2025
3-digit NAICS · 4 shown
| Code | Subsector | Employment | Share of other services (except public administration) | LQ | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 811 | Repair and Maintenance | 24,088 | 47.2% | 1.20 | pub. |
| 812 | Personal and Laundry Services | 16,405 | 32.1% | 0.76 | est. · 1.00 |
| 813 | Religious, Grantmaking, Civic, Professional, and Similar Organizations | 8,984 | 17.6% | 0.46 | est. · 1.00 |
| 814 | Private Households | 1,596 | 3.1% | 0.57 | pub. |
† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.
Where these numbers come from
Reading these figures
The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.
How this figure was built
Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.
Notes
Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.
Other Services (except Public Administration) in Alabama, quarterly, at full depth
This page shows annual figures for other services (except public administration) in Alabama. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.
County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.