Wyoming · NAICS 44-45 · Annual, 2025

Retail Trade in Wyoming

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 44-45 in Wyoming, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Retail Trade (NAICS 44-45) employed about 30,400 people in Wyoming across roughly 2,429 establishments, with average annual pay of $38,740.

Employment in Retail Trade in Wyoming grew 5.7% from 2020 to 2025. Average pay in the industry is 39.0% below the all-industries average in Wyoming. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Wyoming are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 30,400Employment, 2025
  • 2,429Establishments
  • $38,740Avg. annual pay
  • 10.8%Share of Wyoming jobs
  • 1.08Location quotient

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Retail Trade in Wyoming, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 30,100 to 30,400.010K20K30K40K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 30,100; 2005 30,500; 2006 31,000; 2007 32,100; 2008 32,300; 2009 30,800; 2010 29,600; 2011 29,300; 2012 29,500; 2013 29,900; 2014 29,900; 2015 30,900; 2016 30,700; 2017 29,800; 2018 29,400; 2019 29,000; 2020 28,700; 2021 29,700; 2022 30,400; 2023 30,300; 2024 30,400; 2025 30,400.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
202530,3742,429$38,738 0.0%pub.
202430,3642,433$37,849 0.1%pub.
202330,3312,436$36,953 0.4%pub.
202230,4492,413$35,597 2.4%est. · 1.00
202129,7322,371$33,516 3.5%pub.
202028,7262,345$31,775 0.9%pub.
201928,9852,342$30,071 1.3%pub.
201829,3512,376$29,060 1.4%est. · 1.00
201729,7702,398$28,421 3.2%est. · 1.00
201630,7412,420$27,623 0.4%est. · 1.00

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 9 shown

CodeSubsectorEmploymentShare of retail tradeLQSource
441Motor Vehicle and Parts Dealers4,11913.6%1.11est. · 0.99
444Building Material and Garden Equipment and Supplies Dealers3,85912.7%1.55est. · 1.00
445Food and Beverage Retailers5,27917.4%0.89pub.
449Furniture, Home Furnishings, Electronics, and Appliance Retailers1,2004.0%0.86est. · 0.99
455General Merchandise Retailers6,18820.4%1.05pub.
456Health and Personal Care Retailers1,0163.3%0.53est. · 0.97
457Gasoline Stations and Fuel Dealers4,42914.6%2.33est. · 1.00
458Clothing, Clothing Accessories, Shoe, and Jewelry Retailers1,4244.7%0.69pub.
459Sporting Goods, Hobby, Musical Instrument, Book, and Miscellaneous Retailers2,8619.4%1.06pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Retail Trade in Wyoming, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for retail trade in Wyoming. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.