New York · NAICS 44-45 · Annual, 2025

Retail Trade in New York

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 44-45 in New York, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Retail Trade (NAICS 44-45) employed about 832,500 people in New York across roughly 68,860 establishments, with average annual pay of $50,130.

Employment in Retail Trade in New York declined 3.6% from 2004 to 2025. Average pay in the industry is 49.8% below the all-industries average in New York. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for New York are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 832,500Employment, 2025
  • 68,860Establishments
  • $50,130Avg. annual pay
  • 8.5%Share of New York jobs
  • 0.86Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Retail Trade in New York, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 863,900 to 832,500.0250K500K750K1M20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 863,900; 2005 875,500; 2006 878,400; 2007 893,900; 2008 896,400; 2009 862,000; 2010 873,900; 2011 890,800; 2012 910,200; 2013 924,100; 2014 939,100; 2015 942,900; 2016 939,100; 2017 937,600; 2018 931,000; 2019 914,500; 2020 800,800; 2021 826,000; 2022 846,100; 2023 843,700; 2024 835,600; 2025 832,500.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
2025832,50668,860$50,131 0.4%est. · 1.00
2024835,59669,033$48,883 1.0%est. · 1.00
2023843,72471,253$47,491 0.3%est. · 1.00
2022846,13870,363$46,659 2.4%est. · 1.00
2021825,95669,794$44,650 3.1%est. · 1.00
2020800,78572,021$41,848 12.4%est. · 1.00
2019914,53873,642$38,435 1.8%est. · 1.00
2018930,98975,248$36,518 0.7%est. · 1.00
2017937,57777,006$35,124 0.2%est. · 1.00
2016939,12674,882$33,900 0.4%est. · 1.00

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 9 shown

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Retail Trade in New York, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for retail trade in New York. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.