Maryland · NAICS 51 · Annual, 2025

Information in Maryland

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 51 in Maryland, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Information (NAICS 51) employed about 38,200 people in Maryland across roughly 6,159 establishments, with average annual pay of $139,550.

Employment in Information in Maryland declined 29.1% from 2004 to 2025. The industry is less concentrated in Maryland than in the nation as a whole (location quotient 0.72). Average pay in the industry is 71.2% above the all-industries average in Maryland. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Maryland are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 38,200Employment, 2025
  • 6,159Establishments
  • $139,550Avg. annual pay
  • 1.4%Share of Maryland jobs
  • 0.72Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Information in Maryland, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 53,900 to 38,200.020K40K60K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 53,900; 2005 54,300; 2006 54,700; 2007 54,700; 2008 53,900; 2009 50,300; 2010 47,800; 2011 45,500; 2012 43,600; 2013 43,300; 2014 42,900; 2015 42,300; 2016 41,900; 2017 41,200; 2018 40,000; 2019 39,500; 2020 36,600; 2021 36,900; 2022 39,300; 2023 38,700; 2024 38,000; 2025 38,200.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
202538,2206,159$139,554 0.5%est. · 1.00
202438,0105,659$131,975 1.9%est. · 1.00
202338,7405,248$121,197 1.3%est. · 1.00
202239,2664,868$113,945 6.3%est. · 1.00
202136,9453,492$139,276 1.1%est. · 1.00
202036,5602,939$103,807 7.4%est. · 1.00
201939,4672,930$92,938 1.3%est. · 1.00
201839,9652,819$87,437 3.0%est. · 1.00
201741,2052,801$83,333 1.6%est. · 1.00
201641,8912,766$82,615 0.9%est. · 1.00

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 6 shown

CodeSubsectorEmploymentShare of informationLQSource
512Motion Picture and Sound Recording Industries3,7199.7%0.58est. · 1.00
513Publishing Industries11,13329.1%0.70pub.
516Broadcasting and Content Providers3,4929.1%0.58pub.
517Telecommunications9,21224.1%0.88pub.
518Computing Infrastructure Providers, Data Processing, Web Hosting, and Related Services5,68414.9%0.66est. · 1.00
519Web Search Portals, Libraries, Archives, and Other Information Services4,97913.0%0.91est. · 0.99

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Information in Maryland, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for information in Maryland. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.