Kansas · NAICS 31-33 · Annual, 2025

Manufacturing in Kansas

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 31-33 in Kansas, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Manufacturing (NAICS 31-33) employed about 173,900 people in Kansas across roughly 3,549 establishments, with average annual pay of $76,360.

Employment in Manufacturing in Kansas grew 9.5% from 2020 to 2025. The industry is 1.5× as concentrated in Kansas as in the nation as a whole (location quotient 1.50). Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Kansas are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 173,900Employment, 2025
  • 3,549Establishments
  • $76,360Avg. annual pay
  • 12.1%Share of Kansas jobs
  • 1.50Location quotient

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Manufacturing in Kansas, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 176,500 to 173,900.050K100K150K200K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 176,500; 2005 180,200; 2006 182,700; 2007 185,800; 2008 187,200; 2009 167,100; 2010 159,800; 2011 161,100; 2012 162,700; 2013 163,000; 2014 162,400; 2015 161,200; 2016 160,300; 2017 161,500; 2018 165,100; 2019 167,200; 2020 158,800; 2021 160,700; 2022 169,100; 2023 173,200; 2024 174,500; 2025 173,900.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
2025173,9203,549$76,360 0.3%pub.
2024174,4953,452$73,072 0.7%pub.
2023173,2263,355$70,906 2.5%pub.
2022169,0713,273$68,582 5.2%pub.
2021160,7313,170$64,603 1.2%pub.
2020158,7843,109$62,958 5.0%pub.
2019167,1963,105$59,652 1.3%pub.
2018165,0563,143$59,206 2.2%pub.
2017161,5173,164$57,532 0.8%pub.
2016160,3013,199$55,859 0.6%pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 21 shown

CodeSubsectorEmploymentShare of manufacturingLQSource
311Food Manufacturing37,77821.7%2.31pub.
312Beverage and Tobacco Product Manufacturing1,8461.1%0.61pub.
313Textile Mills910.1%0.12est. · 0.92
314Textile Product Mills3960.2%0.46pub.
315Apparel Manufacturing2830.2%0.39pub.
316Leather and Allied Product Manufacturing180.0%0.08est. · 0.86
321Wood Product Manufacturing1,8511.1%0.50pub.
322Paper Manufacturing1,8831.1%0.58pub.
323Printing and Related Support Activities6,3583.7%1.99pub.
324Petroleum and Coal Products Manufacturing2,6401.5%2.62pub.
325Chemical Manufacturing9,2325.3%1.12pub.
326Plastics and Rubber Products Manufacturing10,2875.9%1.60pub.
327Nonmetallic Mineral Product Manufacturing5,2003.0%1.37pub.
331Primary Metal Manufacturing1,6651.0%0.50pub.
332Fabricated Metal Product Manufacturing17,62010.1%1.34pub.
333Machinery Manufacturing19,43011.2%1.94pub.
334Computer and Electronic Product Manufacturing8,7605.0%0.95pub.
335Electrical Equipment, Appliance, and Component Manufacturing5,3073.0%1.33pub.
336Transportation Equipment Manufacturing37,82221.8%2.31pub.
337Furniture and Related Product Manufacturing2,4181.4%0.79pub.
339Miscellaneous Manufacturing3,0361.8%0.54pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Manufacturing in Kansas, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for manufacturing in Kansas. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.