Iowa · NAICS 722 · Annual, 2025

Food Services and Drinking Places in Iowa

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 722 in Iowa, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Food Services and Drinking Places (NAICS 722) employed about 105,200 people in Iowa across roughly 6,561 establishments, with average annual pay of $20,850.

Employment in Food Services and Drinking Places in Iowa grew 20.8% from 2020 to 2025. Average pay in the industry is 67.1% below the all-industries average in Iowa. Employment reached its 2004–2025 peak in 2025, at about 105,200. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Iowa are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 105,200Employment, 2025
  • 6,561Establishments
  • $20,850Avg. annual pay
  • 6.8%Share of Iowa jobs
  • 0.86Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Food Services and Drinking Places in Iowa, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 91,900 to 105,200.050K100K150K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 91,900; 2005 94,400; 2006 96,700; 2007 98,600; 2008 97,000; 2009 95,400; 2010 93,600; 2011 94,600; 2012 96,500; 2013 98,400; 2014 99,300; 2015 100,800; 2016 101,500; 2017 102,100; 2018 102,400; 2019 102,400; 2020 87,100; 2021 94,500; 2022 99,700; 2023 102,900; 2024 104,700; 2025 105,200.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
2025105,2216,561$20,853 0.5%est. · 1.00
2024104,7416,564$20,408 1.8%est. · 1.00
2023102,9176,474$19,892 3.3%est. · 1.00
202299,6616,481$19,118 5.4%est. · 1.00
202194,5196,360$18,049 8.5%est. · 1.00
202087,1096,335$16,164 14.9%est. · 1.00
2019102,3746,401$15,536 0.0%est. · 1.00
2018102,3656,318$15,046 0.3%est. · 1.00
2017102,0846,216$14,593 0.5%est. · 1.00
2016101,5356,186$14,111 0.7%est. · 1.00

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Food Services and Drinking Places in Iowa, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for food services and drinking places in Iowa. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.