Indiana · NAICS 48-49 · Annual, 2025

Transportation and Warehousing in Indiana

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 48-49 in Indiana, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Transportation and Warehousing (NAICS 48-49) employed about 185,400 people in Indiana across roughly 7,786 establishments, with average annual pay of $60,970.

Employment in Transportation and Warehousing in Indiana grew 13.7% from 2020 to 2025. Employment reached its 2004–2025 peak in 2025, at about 185,400. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Indiana are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 185,400Employment, 2025
  • 7,786Establishments
  • $60,970Avg. annual pay
  • 5.8%Share of Indiana jobs
  • 1.19Location quotient

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Transportation and Warehousing in Indiana, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 123,300 to 185,400.050K100K150K200K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 123,300; 2005 127,700; 2006 130,600; 2007 131,300; 2008 130,700; 2009 122,700; 2010 122,500; 2011 125,200; 2012 127,800; 2013 130,900; 2014 134,100; 2015 135,200; 2016 139,700; 2017 140,400; 2018 153,400; 2019 158,100; 2020 163,100; 2021 171,300; 2022 181,100; 2023 183,300; 2024 185,200; 2025 185,400.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
2025185,4357,786$60,972 0.1%pub.
2024185,1927,821$59,265 1.0%pub.
2023183,3227,940$57,776 1.2%pub.
2022181,0787,791$55,889 5.7%pub.
2021171,3287,317$52,935 5.0%est. · 1.00
2020163,1047,026$49,675 3.1%pub.
2019158,1486,832$47,961 3.1%pub.
2018153,4356,620$46,898 9.3%pub.
2017140,3646,439$45,673 0.5%pub.
2016139,6976,416$44,396 3.4%pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 11 shown

CodeSubsectorEmploymentShare of transportation and warehousingLQSource
481Air Transportation3,7792.0%0.32pub.
482Rail Transportation240.0%0.81est. · 0.49
483Water Transportation1,5260.8%1.05est. · 0.93
484Truck Transportation51,78927.9%1.71pub.
485Transit and Ground Passenger Transportation9,0124.9%0.52pub.
486Pipeline Transportation5300.3%0.45pub.
487Scenic and Sightseeing Transportation700.0%0.11pub.
488Support Activities for Transportation12,7976.9%0.70pub.
491Postal Service12,8837.0%1.04pub.
492Couriers and Messengers25,48713.7%1.11pub.
493Warehousing and Storage67,53936.4%1.73pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Transportation and Warehousing in Indiana, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for transportation and warehousing in Indiana. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.