Illinois · NAICS 624 · Annual, 2025

Social Assistance in Illinois

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 624 in Illinois, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Social Assistance (NAICS 624) employed about 157,400 people in Illinois across roughly 10,852 establishments, with average annual pay of $37,310.

Employment in Social Assistance in Illinois grew 16.4% from 2020 to 2025. Average pay in the industry is 53.4% below the all-industries average in Illinois. QCEW withheld part of this figure for Illinois; DTG's estimate is shown, with a reliability score of 0.99. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Illinois are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 157,400Employment, 2025
  • 10,852Establishments
  • $37,310Avg. annual pay
  • 2.6%Share of Illinois jobs
  • 0.77Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 0.99. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Social Assistance in Illinois, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 88,000 to 157,400.050K100K150K200K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 88,000; 2005 89,300; 2006 91,500; 2007 94,700; 2008 98,800; 2009 99,600; 2010 101,900; 2011 106,500; 2012 110,600; 2013 114,700; 2014 119,400; 2015 124,500; 2016 126,200; 2017 130,400; 2018 133,700; 2019 138,100; 2020 135,200; 2021 140,600; 2022 147,000; 2023 157,900; 2024 155,200; 2025 157,400.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
2025157,40310,852$37,310 1.4%est. · 0.99
2024155,16511,662$36,294 1.8%pub.
2023157,93910,621$33,723 7.5%pub.
2022146,9619,963$31,896 4.5%pub.
2021140,5629,924$30,454 3.9%pub.
2020135,22810,041$28,622 2.1%pub.
2019138,1435,392$26,277 3.4%pub.
2018133,6675,317$25,221 2.5%pub.
2017130,3725,202$24,384 3.3%pub.
2016126,1645,449$23,740 1.3%pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Social Assistance in Illinois, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for social assistance in Illinois. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.