Hawaii · NAICS 31-33 · Annual, 2025

Manufacturing in Hawaii

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 31-33 in Hawaii, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Manufacturing (NAICS 31-33) employed about 19,600 people in Hawaii across roughly 1,192 establishments, with average annual pay of $84,650.

Employment in Manufacturing in Hawaii grew 7.5% from 2020 to 2025. The industry is less concentrated in Hawaii than in the nation as a whole (location quotient 0.37). QCEW withheld part of this figure for Hawaii; DTG's estimate is shown, with a reliability score of 0.99. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Hawaii are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 19,600Employment, 2025
  • 1,192Establishments
  • $84,650Avg. annual pay
  • 3.0%Share of Hawaii jobs
  • 0.37Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 0.99. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Manufacturing in Hawaii, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 19,800 to 19,600.010K20K30K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 19,800; 2005 19,400; 2006 19,300; 2007 19,300; 2008 19,000; 2009 17,900; 2010 17,200; 2011 17,500; 2012 17,800; 2013 17,900; 2014 18,300; 2015 18,800; 2016 19,100; 2017 19,500; 2018 19,800; 2019 20,100; 2020 18,200; 2021 18,500; 2022 19,000; 2023 19,200; 2024 19,400; 2025 19,600.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
202519,5911,192$84,651 1.1%est. · 0.99
202419,3771,185$78,693 1.0%est. · 1.00
202319,1771,146$72,766 1.1%pub.
202218,9761,108$69,909 2.6%est. · 1.00
202118,5021,066$67,625 1.5%est. · 1.00
202018,2241,040$65,674 9.3%est. · 1.00
201920,0841,033$61,444 1.2%pub.
201819,8471,014$60,541 1.7%pub.
201719,5081,006$58,928 2.0%pub.
201619,118955$57,534 1.4%pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

By subsector, 2025

3-digit NAICS · 21 shown

CodeSubsectorEmploymentShare of manufacturingLQSource
311Food Manufacturing6,02830.8%0.82pub.
312Beverage and Tobacco Product Manufacturing1,2556.4%0.92pub.
313Textile Mills410.2%0.12est. · 0.26
314Textile Product Mills1530.8%0.40pub.
315Apparel Manufacturing2741.4%0.84pub.
316Leather and Allied Product Manufacturing840.4%0.85pub.
321Wood Product Manufacturing1490.8%0.09pub.
322Paper Manufacturing790.4%0.05pub.
323Printing and Related Support Activities5422.8%0.38pub.
324Petroleum and Coal Products Manufacturing2941.5%0.65est. · 0.34
325Chemical Manufacturing3962.0%0.11pub.
326Plastics and Rubber Products Manufacturing2281.2%0.08pub.
327Nonmetallic Mineral Product Manufacturing8034.1%0.47pub.
331Primary Metal Manufacturing550.3%0.04est. · 0.26
332Fabricated Metal Product Manufacturing3041.6%0.05pub.
333Machinery Manufacturing660.3%0.01est. · 0.57
334Computer and Electronic Product Manufacturing2351.2%0.06pub.
335Electrical Equipment, Appliance, and Component Manufacturing240.1%0.01est. · 0.82
336Transportation Equipment Manufacturing7,54338.5%1.03pub.
337Furniture and Related Product Manufacturing3021.5%0.22pub.
339Miscellaneous Manufacturing7373.8%0.29pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Manufacturing in Hawaii, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for manufacturing in Hawaii. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.