District of Columbia · NAICS 921 · Annual, 2025

Executive, Legislative, and Other General Government Support in the District of Columbia

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 921 in the District of Columbia, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Executive, Legislative, and Other General Government Support (NAICS 921) employed about 48,200 people in the District of Columbia across roughly 62 establishments, with average annual pay of $121,560.

Employment in Executive, Legislative, and Other General Government Support in the District of Columbia grew 10.2% from 2004 to 2025. The industry is 3.1× as concentrated in the District of Columbia as in the nation as a whole (location quotient 3.07). QCEW withheld part of this figure for the District of Columbia; DTG's estimate is shown, with a reliability score of 0.99. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for the District of Columbia are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 48,200Employment, 2025
  • 62Establishments
  • $121,560Avg. annual pay
  • 6.5%Share of District of Columbia jobs
  • 3.07Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 0.99. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Executive, Legislative, and Other General Government Support in the District of Columbia, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 43,800 to 48,200.020K40K60K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 43,800; 2005 44,200; 2006 44,400; 2007 44,300; 2008 44,800; 2009 46,000; 2010 47,800; 2011 46,600; 2012 46,400; 2013 46,000; 2014 47,100; 2015 47,500; 2016 48,000; 2017 48,100; 2018 48,200; 2019 48,300; 2020 49,000; 2021 49,900; 2022 48,200; 2023 48,300; 2024 49,200; 2025 48,200.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
202548,24562$121,563 1.9%est. · 0.99
202449,17059$116,601 1.8%est. · 1.00
202348,27558$113,594 0.1%est. · 1.00
202248,24658$110,115 3.4%est. · 1.00
202149,93459$105,152 1.9%est. · 1.00
202048,98759$104,075 1.5%est. · 1.00
201948,27255$101,418 0.2%est. · 1.00
201848,18754$100,511 0.2%est. · 1.00
201748,10956$96,605 0.3%est. · 1.00
201647,97859$93,985 0.9%est. · 1.00

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Executive, Legislative, and Other General Government Support in District of Columbia, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for executive, legislative, and other general government support in District of Columbia. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.