Arizona · NAICS 455 · Annual, 2025

General Merchandise Retailers in Arizona

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 455 in Arizona, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, General Merchandise Retailers (NAICS 455) employed about 78,900 people in Arizona across roughly 1,355 establishments, with average annual pay of $42,940.

Employment in General Merchandise Retailers in Arizona grew 8.8% from 2020 to 2025. Average pay in the industry is 41.1% below the all-industries average in Arizona. Employment reached its 2004–2025 peak in 2025, at about 78,900. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Arizona are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 78,900Employment, 2025
  • 1,355Establishments
  • $42,940Avg. annual pay
  • 2.4%Share of Arizona jobs
  • 1.17Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in General Merchandise Retailers in Arizona, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 60,800 to 78,900.020K40K60K80K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 60,800; 2005 65,300; 2006 67,200; 2007 70,600; 2008 72,800; 2009 68,900; 2010 68,100; 2011 70,000; 2012 70,000; 2013 69,400; 2014 72,100; 2015 74,600; 2016 75,000; 2017 74,000; 2018 73,100; 2019 72,800; 2020 72,500; 2021 77,500; 2022 78,700; 2023 77,100; 2024 78,700; 2025 78,900.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
202578,9441,355$42,939 0.3%est. · 1.00
202478,6751,416$41,380 2.1%pub.
202377,0661,411$39,785 2.1%pub.
202278,6871,374$38,276 1.5%pub.
202177,4941,854$33,828 6.8%est. · 0.48
202072,5291,750$31,987 0.4%est. · 0.64
201972,7921,727$29,148 0.4%est. · 0.68
201873,0611,595$28,307 1.3%est. · 0.69
201774,0321,422$26,857 1.2%est. · 0.67
201674,9591,400$25,502 0.4%est. · 0.37

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

General Merchandise Retailers in Arizona, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for general merchandise retailers in Arizona. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.