Alabama · NAICS 531 · Annual, 2025

Real Estate in Alabama

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 531 in Alabama, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Real Estate (NAICS 531) employed about 20,500 people in Alabama across roughly 5,703 establishments, with average annual pay of $63,560.

Employment in Real Estate in Alabama grew 13.0% from 2020 to 2025. Employment reached its 2004–2025 peak in 2025, at about 20,500. QCEW withheld part of this figure for Alabama; DTG's estimate is shown, with a reliability score of 0.99. Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Alabama are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 20,500Employment, 2025
  • 5,703Establishments
  • $63,560Avg. annual pay
  • 1.0%Share of Alabama jobs
  • 0.81Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 0.99. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Real Estate in Alabama, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 16,700 to 20,500.010K20K30K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 16,700; 2005 16,800; 2006 16,800; 2007 17,600; 2008 17,400; 2009 16,700; 2010 16,000; 2011 15,700; 2012 15,900; 2013 16,400; 2014 16,200; 2015 16,400; 2016 16,700; 2017 17,100; 2018 17,600; 2019 17,800; 2020 18,100; 2021 18,700; 2022 19,500; 2023 19,800; 2024 20,000; 2025 20,500.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
202520,4595,703$63,561 2.3%est. · 0.99
202420,0005,570$60,128 0.8%est. · 0.99
202319,8445,400$58,438 1.8%est. · 0.99
202219,4835,155$57,143 4.3%est. · 1.00
202118,6714,796$53,864 3.1%est. · 0.99
202018,1024,550$49,949 1.7%est. · 0.99
201917,8064,395$47,006 1.4%est. · 0.99
201817,5634,249$44,322 2.9%est. · 0.99
201717,0714,057$44,157 2.1%est. · 0.99
201616,7273,876$42,690 2.2%est. · 0.99

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Real Estate in Alabama, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for real estate in Alabama. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.