Alabama · NAICS 336 · Annual, 2025

Transportation Equipment Manufacturing in Alabama

Employment, establishments and average pay for NAICS 336 in Alabama, 2004–2025, from DTG's QCEW-based estimates.

In 2025, Transportation Equipment Manufacturing (NAICS 336) employed about 79,200 people in Alabama across roughly 592 establishments, with average annual pay of $83,190.

Employment in Transportation Equipment Manufacturing in Alabama grew 29.9% from 2020 to 2025. The industry is 3.3× as concentrated in Alabama as in the nation as a whole (location quotient 3.27). Quarterly values, full industry detail and projections to 2036 for Alabama are included with a free account. County-level detail is part of every paid plan, or one county free for seven days.

  • 79,200Employment, 2025
  • 592Establishments
  • $83,190Avg. annual pay
  • 3.7%Share of Alabama jobs
  • 3.27Location quotient

The 2025 figures above are a DTG estimate: Estimated · 1.00. † Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

Employment, 2004 to 2025

Annual average · all ownerships

Employment in Transportation Equipment Manufacturing in Alabama, 2004–2025Line chart of annual employment from 2004 to 2025, from 39,200 to 79,200.025K50K75K100K20042010201520202025

Annual employment, 2004–2025: 2004 39,200; 2005 46,500; 2006 51,900; 2007 52,600; 2008 52,600; 2009 47,100; 2010 45,700; 2011 47,400; 2012 51,700; 2013 56,800; 2014 60,000; 2015 62,900; 2016 63,700; 2017 64,200; 2018 63,900; 2019 64,200; 2020 61,000; 2021 65,500; 2022 70,100; 2023 76,700; 2024 80,300; 2025 79,200.

Last ten years

Annual · 10 years

YearEmploymentEstab.Avg. annual payChangeSource
202579,172592$83,187 1.5%est. · 1.00
202480,333571$80,632 4.7%est. · 1.00
202376,730550$76,583 9.5%est. · 1.00
202270,078525$73,528 7.0%est. · 1.00
202165,476479$68,367 7.4%est. · 1.00
202060,954449$68,189 5.1%est. · 1.00
201964,245436$67,177 0.5%est. · 1.00
201863,918422$65,541 0.4%est. · 1.00
201764,176419$63,315 0.7%est. · 1.00
201663,731381$62,782 1.3%pub.

† Not disclosed in QCEW; DTG estimate.

The full history from 2004 and quarterly values are available with a free account.

Where these numbers come from

Reading these figures

The figures on this page come from one named vintage, stated below, and are annual values for all ownerships combined. Where QCEW withheld a value, the marked figure is an estimate that DTG produced under the constraints of the published record; suppression is a property of QCEW, not of DTG, and a withheld value is marked rather than silently omitted. Two things DTG itself holds back, and says so where it does: an estimate that cannot be given a reliability score is not shown, and average pay is not shown where fewer than three jobs are reported. The row is marked withheld, with the reason in a note beneath the table. The mark is on every row that carries a value: the headline, the yearly history, the subsectors and the other states. An estimated value that rounds below one is shown as less than one, not as zero. Quarterly figures, county figures and projected years are in the app.

How this figure was built

Employment is the average of the three monthly counts in each quarter, averaged across the year, and establishments are averaged across the year the same way. Average annual pay is the year’s total wages divided by that average employment. Each of these is DTG’s value: QCEW’s published figure where QCEW disclosed it, and DTG’s estimate, marked, where it did not. How withheld values are estimated, and what the reliability score beside a figure means, are described on the industry data and disclosure and provenance pages.

Estimated by Data Tactical Group from BLS QCEW, with CES/SAE and projection inputs described in the methodology. Method: Disclosure, Industry.

Notes

Data Tactical Group is an independent company and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any federal agency.

Transportation Equipment Manufacturing in Alabama, quarterly, at full depth

This page shows annual figures for transportation equipment manufacturing in Alabama. A free account shows every detailed industry beneath it, quarterly, for every state, with projections to ten years. No card.

County figures, file export and the API are on paid plans.